A regular meeting of the Roscommon County Board of Road Commissioners was held at 7 p.m. March 9, 2023. Present: Jim Porath, Clint Stauffer, Scott Eckstorm, and Brian Vaughn. Also present: Manager Roger Saxton and Board Clerk Stefanie Simmons. Employees present: None. Guests Present: None. Commissioner Wykoff was absent.

- 1. Motion Eckstorm, second Vaughn that the Agenda be approved as presented. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 2. Motion Stauffer, second Eckstorm that minutes from the regular meeting held February 23, 2023 be approved as presented. All ayes. Motion carried.
- 3. Motion Vaughn, second Stauffer that Payroll in the amount of \$121,218.13, covered by voucher #9027, be approved as presented. Roll Call Vote Eckstorm Aye, Stauffer Aye, Vaughn Aye, Porath Aye. Nays None. Wykoff Absent. Motion carried.
- 4. Motion Vaughn, second Stauffer that bills in the amount of \$184,975.18, covered by voucher #9028, be approved as presented. Roll Call Vote Stauffer Aye, Eckstorm Aye, Vaughn Aye, Porath Aye. Nays None. Wykoff Absent. Motion carried.
- 5. Motion Eckstorm, second Stauffer to award Vac Truck rental to Fredrickson Supply in the amount of \$13,750/month. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 6. Motion Vaughn, second Eckstorm to sign Letter of Understanding with the Union for rate change of the Yards and Grounds Position. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 7. Motion Vaughn, second Eckstorm to approve the amendment to the Dixie Blvd. Denton Township resolution, originally passed October 4th 1978. Roll Call: Vaughn Aye, Stauffer Aye, Eckstorm Aye, Porath Aye. Nays none. Wykoff Absent. Resolution declared adopted.
- 8. Motion Vaughn, second Stauffer to allow a one-time exception to the capital purchasing policy and allow Manager Saxton to purchase an excavator through an extended purchase program. Roll Call: Stauffer Aye, Eckstorm Aye, Vaughn Aye, Porath Aye. Nays none. Wykoff Absent. Motion carried.
- 9. Discussion was held on the M-55 Lane conversion. A presentation will be given by MDOT at an upcoming meeting.
- 10. Motion Eckstorm, second Vaughn to approve 2022 allocation roll over for Nester Township. All Ayes. Motion Carried.
- 11. Motion Vaughn, Eckstorm to sign Road Agreement with Roscommon Township for multiple roads for the estimated cost of \$408,483 with the Road Commission share being \$74,172 in local road millage and \$307,280 in allocation, with the Townships share being \$27,031. All Ayes. Motion Carried.
- 12. Discussion was held on purchase of 2 used V-bottoms which the Road Commission has been renting from Halliday Sand and Gravel for many years. Halliday's has decided to no longer rent the v-bottoms and put them up for sale. Motion Eckstorm, second Stauffer to allow Manager Saxton to purchase the used V-bottoms from

Halliday Sand and Gravel for the cost of \$70,000. Roll Call: Stauffer Aye, Eckstorm Aye, Porath Aye. Vaughn Abstain. Wykoff Absent. Motion Carried.

- 13. Correspondence: 1) Candidates for MCRCSIP Board of Directors 2) Denton-Roscommon Joint master plan update 3) Team Hodges thank you for purchase 4) MDOT call for 2025 TEDF Category F Applications.
- 14. Managers' report was presented.
- 15. Commissioners Reports were given: Eckstorm Inquired about how to go about getting Knapp Road upgraded to a primary. Stauffer Questioned the new rules from EGLE regarding road brine. Vaughn discussion on brine.

There being no further business to come before the Board, Chair Porath declared the meeting adjourned at 7:52 p.m. The next regular meeting will be held March 23, 2023.

(Minutes subject to Board approval)		
Stefanie E. Simmons, Board Clerk	Jim Porath, Chair	