A regular meeting of the Roscommon County Board of Road Commissioners was held at 7 p.m. January 26, 2023. Present: Brian Vaughn, Justin Wykoff, Clint Stauffer, Scott Eckstorm and Jim Porath. Also present: Manager Roger Saxton and Acting Board Clerk Diane Blackburn. Employees present: Neil Belanger. Guests present were Bill Smitt, Nick Opperman-Rieth Riley and Justin Clift-Satkowiak City Sewer.

- 1. Motion Wykoff, second Stauffer that the Agenda be approved with the addition of #7 under new business-MDOT contract #22-5564. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 2. Motion Vaughn, second Stauffer that minutes from the regular meeting held January 12, 2023 be approved as presented. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 3. Motion Wykoff, second Vaughn, that payroll in the amount of \$238,983.00, covered by voucher #9020, be approved as presented. Roll call vote Eckstorm Aye, Wykoff Aye, Stauffer Aye, Vaughn Aye, Porath Aye. Nays None. Motion carried.
- 4. Motion Wykoff, second Vaughn, that payroll in the amount of \$96,079.44, covered by voucher #9021, be approved as presented. Roll call vote Stauffer Aye, Vaughn Aye, Eckstorm Aye, Wykoff Aye, Porath Aye. Motion carried.
- 5. Motion Eckstorm, second Stauffer, that bills in the amount of \$118,635.03, covered by voucher #9022, be approved as presented. Roll call vote Stauffer Aye, Vaughn Aye, Wykoff Aye, Eckstorm Aye, Porath Aye. Motion carried.
- 6. 2023 County Wide Paving Bids were opened and read. Motion Vaughn, second Wykoff, to accept all bids, staff to tabulate and bring back recommendations to the next regular meeting. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 7. 2023 Seasonal FOB Bids were opened and read. Motion Eckstorm, second Stauffer, to accept all bids and purchase in the best interest of the Road Commission. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 8. Storm Sewer Cleanout & Video Bids were opened and read. Motion Eckstorm, second Vaughn, to accept all bids, staff to tabulate and bring back recommendations to the next regular meeting. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 9. Motion Wykoff, second Vaughn to allow Chair Porath to sign the 2022 Act 51 Road Mileage Certification. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 10. Motion Vaughn, second Wykoff to approve Allocation carry over for Ausable township as presented. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 11. Motion Vaughn, second Stauffer to approve Allocation carry over for Higgins township as presented. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 12. Motion Vaughn, second Eckstorm to approve casting vote for CRA 2023-2024 Board of Directors Ballot as discussed. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 13. Motion Eckstorm, second Stauffer to allow Chair Porath and Vice Chair Vaughn to

sign the MDOT contract #22-5564 for hot mix asphalt ultra-thin overlay, County Road 100 from Teed Road to Higgins Lake Drive. All Ayes. Motion carried.

- 14. Correspondence: 1) Highway-Railroad Grade Crossing Safety Improvement Programs.
- 15. Managers' report was presented.
- 16. Commissioners Reports were given: Wykoff thanks to the guys for getting up early and clearing the roads. Eckstorm - Attended the TUT Parade. Appreciated the 4 drivers for smiling and participating and the trucks looked great. Vaughn – Echo's Eckstorm comment and stated that the electric car funding was going to be an issue to keep eyes on. Porath – Sorry about missing the last meeting, welcomed Eckstorm, thanks for being cast as Chair again and wondered if we had heard anything about MDOT bike lanes.

There being no further business to come before the Board, Chair Porath declared the meeting adjourned at 7:58 p.m. The next regular meeting will be held February 9, 2023.

(Minutes subject to Board approval)

Diane Blackburn, Acting Board Clerk

Jim Porath, Chair