A regular meeting of the Roscommon County Board of Road Commissioners was held at 7p.m. January 12, 2023. Present: Brian Vaughn, Justin Wykoff, Clint Stauffer, and Scott Eckstorm. Also present: Manager Roger Saxton and Board Clerk Stefanie Simmons. Guests present were John Earley. Commissioner Porath was absent.

- Board Clerk Simmons called the meeting to order asking for nominations for Chair 2023. Commr. Stauffer nominated Commr. Porath, Board Clerk called for more nominations. Hearing none, Motion Vaughn, second Wykoff, that a unanimous ballot be cast for Commr. Porath as Chair in 2023. All ayes. Motion carried.
- 2. Board Clerk Simmons called for nominations for vice chair as Chair was absent. Commr. Stauffer nominated Commr. Vaughn, Clerk Simmons called for additional nominations. Hearing none, Motion Wykoff, second Eckstorm, that a unanimous ballot be cast for Commr. Vaughn as Vice Chair in 2023. All ayes. Motion carried.
- 3. Meeting was turned over to Vice Chair Vaughn.
- 4. Motion Wykoff, second Stauffer that the Agenda be approved as presented. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 5. Motion Wykoff, second Stauffer that minutes from special budget hearing held December 8, 2022 be approved as presented. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 6. Motion Stauffer, second Eckstorm that minutes from the regular meeting held December 8, 2022 be approved as presented. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 7. Motion Eckstorm, second Stauffer, that payroll in the amount of \$117,120.05, covered by voucher #9016, be approved as presented. Roll Call Vote Vaughn Aye, Wykoff Aye, Stauffer Aye, Eckstorm Aye. Porath Absent. Nays None. Motion carried.

Motion Stauffer, second Wykoff that bills in the amount of \$375,480.11, covered by voucher #9017, be approved as presented. Roll Call Vote: Stauffer Aye, Vaughn Aye, Eckstorm Aye, Wykoff Aye, Porath Absent. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Motion Wykoff, second Stauffer that payroll in the amount of \$135,424.79 covered by voucher #9018, be approved as presented. Roll Call Vote: Stauffer Aye, Vaughn Aye, Eckstorm Aye, Wykoff Aye, Porath Absent. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Motion Eckstorm, second Stauffer that bills in the amount of \$116,531.61 covered by voucher #9019, be approved as presented. Roll Call Vote: Eckstorm Aye, Stauffer Aye, Vaughn Aye, Wykoff Aye, Porath Absent. Nays: None. Motion carried.

- 8. John Earley was presented with his plaque for his time served as Road Commissioner. The Board thanked him for his service to the public.
- 9. Motion Wykoff, second Eckstorm to approve the naming of a private road in Richfield Township, Tyler Drive. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 10. Motion Eckstorm, second Wykoff to extend the 2022 Dust control bid with DJ Bowen. All Ayes. Motion carried.

- 11. Letter of resignation from William Bryant was presented to the Board. The Board thanks him for his 13 years of service and wishes him well in his future endeavors.
- 12. Cost of Living review was discussed. Motion Eckstorm, second Stauffer to approve a one time cost of living stiped as presented. Roll Call Vote: Stauffer Aye, Vaughn Aye, Eckstorm Aye, Wykoff Aye, Porath Absent. Nays: None. Motion carried.
- 13. Motion Wykoff, second Eckstorm to award all employees with an additional vacation day for the hard work and dedication during this past year. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 14. Correspondence: 1) Hess/Vonitter letter 2) Category F Fund Decision
- 15. Managers' report was presented.
- 16. Commissioners Reports were given: Stauffer The crew did a great job during the Christmas storm. Welcomed Scott Eckstorm to the Board. Thanked John Earley for his service. Eckstorm Is excited to be on the Board and is looking forward to working with everyone. Wykoff Thanked the crew for the hard work during the Christmas storm. Vaughn Travelled Emery Road and it looks nice. Welcomed Scott Eckstorm to the Board. Thanked John Earley for his service. He and Wykoff traveled a portion of the Road Ends and will continue until they have all been looked at.

There being no further business to come before the Board, Vice Chair Vaughn declared the meeting adjourned at 7:35 p.m. The next regular meeting will be held January 26, 2023.

| (Minutes subject to Board approval) | | | |
|-------------------------------------|-------------|--------------------------|--|
| | | | |
| Stefanie E. Simmons, | Board Clerk | Brian Vaughn, Vice Chair | |