A regular meeting of the Roscommon County Board of Road Commissioners was held at 7 p.m. April 14, 2022. Present: Jim Porath, Brian Vaughn, Clint Stauffer, John Earley and Justin Wykoff. Also present: Manager Roger Saxton and Board Clerk Stefanie Simmons. Employees present: Neil Belanger and Bryan Jeske. Guests present were Jeff Jeske, Bill Smitt and Krista Tacey-Cater, Houghton Lake Resorter.

- 1. Motion Earley, second Stauffer that the Agenda be approved as presented. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 2. Motion Earley, second Vaughn that minutes from the regular meeting held March 24, 2022 be approved as presented. All ayes. Motion carried.
- 3. Motion Wykoff, second Stauffer that Payroll in the amount of \$99,449.43, covered by voucher #8980, be approved as presented. Roll Call Vote Vaughn Aye, Stauffer Aye, Earley Aye, Wykoff Aye, Porath Aye. Nays None. Motion carried.
- 4. Motion Earley, second Stauffer that payroll in the amount of \$88,434 covered by voucher #8981, be approved as presented. Roll Call Vote Vaughn Aye, Stauffer Aye, Earley Aye, Wykoff Aye, Porath Aye. Nays None. Motion carried.
- 5. Motion Wykoff, second Earley that bills in the amount of \$495,666.87, covered by voucher #8982, be approved as presented. Roll Call Vote Vaughn Aye, Stauffer Aye, Earley Aye, Wykoff Aye, Porath Aye. Nays None. Motion carried.
- 6. Motion Vaughn, second Earley to approve the Allocation carry forward for Denton Township. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 7. Motion Vaughn, second Earley to sign Local Road Agreements with **Denton Township** for **Townline Road** for the estimated cost of \$79,208 with the Road Commission share being \$29,208 in local road millage and \$50,000 in allocation, with the Townships share being \$-0-. For Multiple Roads Chip and Fog seal for the estimated cost of \$207,814 with the Road Commission share being \$83,802 in local road millage and \$124,012 in allocation, with the Townships share being \$-0-, and for **Nestel Road** for the estimated cost of \$76,038 with the Road Commission share being \$25,000 in local road millage and \$51,038 in allocation, with the Townships share being \$-0-. All Ayes. Motion Carried.
- 8. Motion Earley, second Wykoff to sign Local Road Agreements with Gerrish Township for Wheeler Road for the estimated cost of \$26,262 with the Road Commission share being \$10,000 in local road millage and \$16,262 in allocation, with the Townships share being \$-0-. For Multiple Roads Chip and Fog seal for the estimated cost of \$116,409 with the Road Commission share being \$60,000 in local road millage and \$56,409 in allocation, with the Townships share being \$-0-, and for Multiple Roads HMA overlay for the estimated cost of \$153,529 with the Road Commission share being \$83,758 in local road millage and \$69,771 in allocation, with the Townships share being \$-0-. All Ayes. Motion Carried.
- 9. Motion Vaughn, second Stauffer to sign Local Road Agreements with Markey Township for Multiple roads chip and fog seal for the estimated cost of \$228,805

- with the Road Commission share being \$65,947 in local road millage and \$99,102 in allocation and the Townships share \$63,759. All Ayes. Motion Carried.
- 10. Motion Wykoff, second Earley to sign Local Road Agreements with **Nester Township** for **Dunham Lake Road** for the estimated cost of \$57,676 with the Road Commission share being \$21,000 in local road millage and \$36,676 in allocation and the Townships share \$-0-. All Ayes. Motion Carried.
- 11. Motion Earley, second Stauffer to sign Local Road Agreements with Roscommon Township for Townline Road for the estimated cost of \$79,208 with the Road Commission share being \$15,842 in local road millage and \$63,366 in allocation, with the Townships share being \$-0-. For Multiple Roads Chip and Fog seal for the estimated cost of \$79,694 with the Road Commission share being \$18,939 in local road millage and \$58,426 in allocation, with the Townships share being \$2,329, and for Multiple Roads HMA overlay for the estimated cost of \$163,717 with the Road Commission share being \$39,392 in local road millage and \$124,325 in allocation, with the Townships share being \$-0-. All Ayes. Motion Carried.
- 12. Administrative Staff sick and vacation time was discussed. The policy committee had been working on a policy for Administrative Staff sick and vacation time to avoid large lump sum payouts upon end of employment. Motion Earley, second Vaughn that the Administrative Staff sick and vacation policy presented and dated April 14, 2022, be adopted. All Ayes. Motion Carried.
- 13. Tim Turner's letter of retirement was presented to the Board. Motion Vaughn, second Wykoff to accept the letter, thank him for his years of service and wish him well in his retirement. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 14. Correspondence: 1) Attorney Kazim's, Bickford and Bickford v RCRC 2) Old 76, Federal Aid Project, Bid Results, As-Submitted 3) CRA, Legislative Updates, 3-29-2022 4) Governor Whitmer's Press Release, March 29, 2022 5) CRASIF, April 2022, Breakroom News 6) MDOT Gaylord TSC, 2022 Construction & Maintenance Map 7) Bobcat Trail Condominium, Notice of Intent 8) Wonderland Tire Company, Price Increase Notice 9) SMR Concrete, Price Increase Notice 10) Beckman Production Services, Price Increase Notice
- 15. Managers' report was presented.
- 16. Commissioners Reports were given: Wykoff Knapp Road West of Old 27 is tore up, is there anything that can be done? Earley Thank you to Tim Turner for his years of service. Vaughn Thank you to Tim Turner for his years of service. Sweeping crews are out and doing a good job. Stauffer CR100 Almeda Beach, N of the Cut, be careful when cleaning out the culverts. Porath Crews out mowing are doing a great job. Thank you to Tim Turner for his years of service, and thank you to Commissioner Earley for stepping in for him at the last meeting.

There being no further business to come before the Board, Chair Porath declared the meeting adjourned at 7:35 p.m. The next regular meeting will be held April 28, 2022.

| (Minutes subject to Board approval) | | |
|-------------------------------------|-------------------|--|
| Stefanie E. Simmons, Board Clerk | Jim Porath, Chair | |